Eight Bayhawks make 2013 All-Star roster

Eight Bayhawks make 2013 All-Star roster
June 24, 2013, 3:15 pm
Share This Post

The 13th annual Major League Lacross (MLL) All-Star Game will take place at American Legion Memorial Stadium in Charlotte, NC on Saturday July 13, 2013.

Of the 38 MLL players selected, eight were chosen from the Bayhawk’s roster the most from any one team in the league. Representing the Bayhawks for selection in the 2013 All-Star game are attackmen Ben Rubeor and Drew Westervelt, defensemen Barney Ehrmann and Michael Evans, goalie Kip Turner, and midfielders Matt Abbott, Steven Brooks, and Kyle Dixon.

On offense, Westervelt (5th nomination) leads the team in goals with 18 and tallies a total 24 points with 6 assists while Dixon (5th nomination) follows with a total 24 points on 5 goals, 4 two-pointers, and 15 assists. Rubeor (1st nomination) has also been a stand out this season with 23 points on 18 goals and 5 assists.  For the third time in their MLL careers, Brooks and Abbott round out the offensive line-up with 14, and 11 points respectively. Abbott also leads the team in ground balls with 27.

 From the defensive end, Turner (1st nomination) has been on fire this season grabbing 107 saves with a .611 save percentage, good for 2nd overall in the league. Ehrmann (1st nomination) has tallied 20 ground balls over 8 games and Evans (4th nomination) rounds out the nominees with his shut down defense.