Davis is finalist for AL Most Valuable Player

Davis is finalist for AL Most Valuable Player
November 5, 2013, 6:30 pm
Share This Post

Chris Davis was named a finalist for the American League Most Valuable Player Award on Tuesday night. Davis, who led the major leagues with 53 home runs, is joined in the competition by the Detroit Tigers’ Miguel Cabrera, who won the MVP a year ago, and the Los Angeles Angels’ Mike Trout, who was second a year ago.

The results will be announced on Nov. 14. Members of the Baseball Writers cast their ballots. The voting concludes immediately after the regular season.

Davis is seeking to become the first Oriole to win the MVP since Cal Ripken in 1991.

The American League Cy Young Award winner finalists are Texas’ Yu Darvish, Seattle’s Hisashi Iwakuma and Detroit’s Max Scherzer.

Steve Stone was the Orioles’ last Cy Young Award winner in 1980.

Boston’s John Farrell, Cleveland’s Terry Francona and Oakland’s Bob Melvin are the Manager of the Year finalists.

Davey Johnson was the last Orioles manager to win the award in 1997. Buck Showalter was one of the finalists last year, but lost out ot Melvin.

Tampa Bay’s Wil Myers, Chris Archer and Jose Iglesias are the finalists for Rookie of the Year.

The Orioles have not had a Rookie of the Year since reliever Gregg Olson won it in 1989.

NOTES: The Orioles hired Jeff Manto as their minor league hitting coordinator. He replaces Mike Boulanger, who held the job for the past two years.

Manto, who played with the Orioles in 1995, was the Chicago White Sox’s hitting coach for the past two seasons.

Boulanger has been reassigned and will scout for the organization.

According to Baseball America, 27 Orioles minor leaguers are now free agents. The list includes pitcher Zach Clark and infielder Yamaico Navarro, who briefly played with the Orioles last season. Former Orioles pitchers Stu Pomeranz and Mark Hendrickson, catcher Luis Exposito and outfielder Kyle Hudson are free agents, too.

Others on the list are pitchers Tim Alderson, Tim Bascom, Eric Beaulac, Manny Delcarmen, Daniel McCutchen, Jose Nivar, Adam Russell, Daniel Schlereth and Zech Zinicola, catchers Allan de San Miguel and Luis Martinez, infielders Seth Loman, Travis Adair, Josh Horton, Alex Liddi, Niuman Romerao, Brandon Waring and Zelous Wheeler and outfielders George Barber, Scott Beerer and Trayvon Robinson.