Davis, Hardy, Jones win Silver Sluggers

Davis, Hardy, Jones win Silver Sluggers
November 6, 2013, 6:45 pm
Share This Post

The awards continue to pile up for the Orioles. On Wednesday night, Chris Davis, J.J. Hardy and Adam Jones picked up Silver Slugger Awards. It’s the first time the Orioles won three, and they're the only team to win that many.

The awards are voted on by managers and coaches. They may not vote for their own players.

Davis, who set an Orioles record with a major league-leading 53 home runs and drove in 138 runs, is the third Orioles first baseman to win the award. Eddie Murray (1983-84) and Rafael Palmeiro (1998) previously won it.

“Receiving this award is very humbling as there are some really great hitters that play first base in this league so it means a lot to me,” Davis said.

“Batting in the middle of the order, you want to pose a threat at all times, and I’m grateful that the opposing managers and coaches recognized not only the success that I had, but also the success of the team as well.”

No Oriole had won the award since Aubrey Huff in 2008.

Hardy led AL shortstops with 25 home runs. It was the 11th time an Orioles shortstop won the award. Cal Ripken won it eight times (1983-86, 89, 91, 93-94) and Miguel Tejada (2004-05).

“I am really honored to win this award because the coaches and manager’s vote means so much to you as a player,” Hardy said.

“They see you quite a bit in the division, but for the guys you only play against a handful of times to notice not only you, but also two of your teammates, that is a good sign for the direction the Orioles are headed. And then to be mentioned in the same sentence as Cal and Miggy as an offensive player, that just leaves me speechless.”

Adam Jones, who set career highs with 33 home runs and 108 RBIs, is the first Orioles outfielder to win the award, which was first given in 1980.

“It is a tremendous honor and with all of the great Orioles outfielders of the past, I’m surprised I am the first to win one,” Jones said.

“While it is a great individual honor for all three of us, the ultimate goal is to win games and bring a championship to Baltimore.”

Besides Davis, Hardy, Jones, Ripken, Tejada, Murray, Palmeiro and Huff, Mickey Tettleton (1989), Roberto Alomar (1996) and Melvin Mora (2004) also won Silver Sluggers while with the Orioles.