What a catch! Six Orioles Gold Glove finalists

What a catch! Six Orioles Gold Glove finalists
October 25, 2013, 10:30 am
Share This Post

The Orioles’ record setting defense was recognized with six finalists for the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards. Matt Wieters, Chris Davis, J.J. Hardy, Manny Machado, Adam Jones and Nick Markakis are all finalists. The six finalists are most in the American League.

Wieters, who has won the catcher’s award for the past two years is joined by Kansas City’s Salvador Perez and Minnesota’s Joe Mauer,

Davis, who played first base for a complete season for the first time is also a finalist. He joins the Royals’ Eric Hosmer and Tampa Bay’s James Loney.

Hardy won the award for the for the first time a year ago, and his competition is Kansas City’s Alcides Escobar and the Rays’ Yunel Escobar.

After a highlight-filled first year at third base, Machado’s designation as a finalist isn’t a surprise. The others are Tampa Bay’s Evan Longoria and Texas’ Adrian Beltre, who have combined to win the last six awards.

All four Rays’ infielders are finalists.

Jones is trying for his third Gold Glove. He won one in 2009 and then last year as a center fielder. Before 2011, Gold Gloves were awarded to three outfielders regardless of position.

He’s competing against the Royals’ Lorenzo Cain and Boston’s Jacoby Ellsbury.

Markakis, who won the first right fielder’s award in 2011 must beat out the Red Sox’s Shane Victorino and Oakland’s Josh Reddick.

The team made just 54 errors, on average, one in three games. The Orioles had 119 errorless games and a .991 fielding percentage. In the first two games of the World Series, the Cardinals and Red Sox have combined for seven errors.

Ironically, Machado could break the team’s longest Gold Glove drought at any position. Brooks Robinson won 16 straight Gold Gloves, but no Orioles third baseman has won one since his last in 1975.

Eddie Murray (1982-84) and Rafael Palmeiro (1997-98) won five at first base. Davey Johnson (1969-71), Bobby Grich (1973-76) and Roberto Alomar (1996, 98) combined for nine at second. Luis Aparicio (1964, 66), Mark Belanger (1969, 71, 73-78), Cal Ripken (91-92) and Hardy (2012) have 13 at shortstop.

Paul Blair (1967, 69-75), Jones (2009, 12) and Nick Markakis (2011) are the team’s previous outfield winners.

Jim Palmer (1976-79) and Mike Mussina (1996-99) combined for eight Gold Gloves as pitchers.

Wieters is the only Orioles’ catcher to win the Award.

The winners will be announced on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. on Tuesday night.