Ngata, Suggs, Tucker, and Yanda are Pro Bowlers

Ngata, Suggs, Tucker, and Yanda are Pro Bowlers
December 27, 2013, 10:00 pm
Share This Post

Ravens need to end road woes against Bengals

Four Ravens were named to the Pro Bowl roster announced Friday by the NFL – linebacker Terrell Suggs, defensive tackle Haloti Ngata, guard Marshal Yanda, and kicker Justin Tucker. The team was selected by a combination of voting among fans, players, and coaches.

Fullback Vonta Leach is a first alternate, and wide receiver Jacoby Jones is a third alternate as a kickoff/punt returner.

It was the sixth Pro Bowl selection for Suggs, the fifth for Ngata, the third for Yanda, and the first for Tucker.

Tucker has made 35 of 38 field goal attempts this season, which included a streak of 33 straight, and a 61-yarder to defeat the Lions.

Yanda had offseason shoulder surgery, but has remained the Ravens’ most consistent interior lineman.

Suggs has 10 sacks, including nine in the first eight games. He has reestablished himself as one of the league’s top pass rushers, fully recovered from an Achilles injury that plagued him in 2012.

Despite having just 1½ sacks and 45 tackles, Ngata has been a disruptive interior force, still attracting double-team attention at times.

Under the new Pro Bowl format, the teams will not be split by conference affiliation. There will be a first-time Pro Bowl draft on Jan. 22 to select the teams.