Five Terps win ACC lacrosse honors

Five Terps win ACC lacrosse honors
April 29, 2014, 9:30 pm
Share This Post

Niko Amato, Mike Chanenchuk, Michael Ehrhardt, Goran Murray and Charlie Raffa of Maryland all were picked to be the 2014 All-ACC lacrosse team, the school recently announced.

Amato is the first ACC goalie ever to make the team four times. The other four Terps all were picked for the first time. 

This is the most number of players Maryland's put on the All-ACC team since 2006. The Terps also saw five players win honors that season. 

[RELATED Loyola headed to Patriot League final] 

Amato led the way, as his 7.38 goals-against average is tops in the ACC. He also ranks second in the ACC with a .571 save percentage, with his top performance likely being a 17-save effort in a 10-6 victory over Duke (then ranked No. 1 in the nation) on March 1.

Chanenchuk led the Terps through the regular season with 28 goals and 16 assists for 44 points. Ehrhardt changed to long-stick defensive midfield this year -- previously playing at close defense, where he was picked as a pre-season first-team All-American -- and has really taken to his new position. 

Murray has grown into one of the ACC's top defenders. He also won 2012 ACC Freshman of the Year honors. 

Raffa's grown into a strong face-off specialist in College Park. He was third in the nation through the regular season in face-off -- thanks to a winning percentage of .663.