MD commits Trimble, Nickens in UA camp

MD commits Trimble, Nickens in UA camp
June 26, 2013, 6:00 pm
Share This Post

Romelo Trimble and Jared Nickens, both members of Maryland's 2014 recruiting class, have been invited to compete at the Under Armour "Undeniable" Grind Session in Los Angeles, CSN has learned.

The camp, which is by invite only, will take place June 30-July 2 and will feature 29 of the nation's best high school prospects and another handful of college players who will serve as counselors. Among the college talent in attendance will be last year's CAA Player of the Year, Jerrelle Benimon of Towson, as well as J.P. Tokoto of North Carolina and Anthony Collins of South Florida.

The event is closed to college coaches, but is sanctioned by the NBA and will include scouts from all 30 NBA teams.

Trimble and Nickens will join a crop of young talent that CSN has confirmed, including Top 25 national prospect Isaiah Whitehead (Lincoln (N.Y.)), as well as Top 100 talents Chris Chiozza (White Station (Tenn.)) and Dom Collier (Denver East (Colo.)).

Trimble committed to Maryland in December and is ranked No. 56 overall in the Class of 2014 by Nickens committed this month and, though he is not ranked in's Top 150, is known to be a strong shooter from the perimeter and another option for coach Mark Turgeon from the outside.

The two are friendly, according to Nickens' AAU coach Brian Coleman, which added to the appeal of playing alongside one another in College Park.

"Playing with Romelo, a guy who can create and shoot, I think that appeals to him," Coleman said at the time of Nickens' commitment. "They’re pretty close friends. They spent the whole last weekend together [at an Under Armour All-Star event] in Las Vegas. He fits in as another big-time shooter and he gives them length." 

As for Turgeon and the Terrapins, the staff now turns its attention toward the upcoming July live recruiting period where it will likely focus on bolstering its frontcourt depth.

UPDATE 26 June 2013, 6:20 p.m. Full list of participants has been released:

High School

Jalen Adams

Wade Baldwin

Bennie Boatwright

Joe Burton

Brekkot Chapman

Chris Chiozza

Curtis Cobb

Dom Collier

Roman Davis

James Demery

Dante Grantham

Joe Hampton

Mustapha Heron

Marcanvis Hymon

Kaleb Joseph

Doral Moore Jr.

Emmanuel Mudiay

Jared Nickens

Goodluck Okonoboh

Danjel Purifoy

Khaili Richards

Jaquel Richmond

Ray Smith

Diamond Stone

Quinten Snider

Elijah Thomas

Romelo Trimble

Seventh Woods

Isaiah Whitehead


Jerrelle Benimon (Towson)

Jamal Branch (St. John’s)

Robert Carter Jr. (Georgia Tech)

Anthony Collins (USF)

Quenton DeCousey (Temple)

Cady Lalanne (UMASS)

Marcus Hunt (Georgia Tech)

Sir’Dominic Pointer (St. John’s)

Victor Rudd (USF)

Winston Shepard (San Diego St.)

JP Tokoto (UNC)

Chaz Williams (UMass)

Shannon Scott (Ohio St.)